The historic Messinghof
Learn everything about the history of the Messinghof since its construction in the year 1679 until the ambitious restoration process lead by Peter Glinicke since the year 2010.
The cradle of Hercules …
The Messinghof, built in 1679, is one of the oldest and historically most important manufactories in Hesse. The hammer mill and foundry emerged from a former mill site located southwest of the river Losse, the Faustmühle, which was restructured by Landgrave Karl in 1679.
Back then the Messinghof was primarily used to manufacture army equipment; however, the goldsmith Johann Jacob Anthoni from Augsburg completed the statue of Hercules in the same facilities in 1717. The statue, which can now be found in the Bergpark Wilhelmshöhe, is the first large-scale statue in lightweight construction demonstrating the capabilities of the Hessian metal industry.
In 1866 the Electorate of Hesse was annexed by Prussia leading to the privatization of all state-owned mills at the river Losse in 1869. The company Lieberg & Co. purchased the industrial monuments Messinghof and Kupferhammer and started supplying the mechanical engineering industry and railway in the 19th century.
After 1933 the owner of the Messinghof changed from the Jewish family Lieberg, which was expropriated by the National Socialists, to the company Imfeld & Co. The name of the manufactory, however, did not change at first. In Second World War parts of the facility were destroyed.
In 1975 the 300-year long history of metalworking in the facilities of the Messinghof came to an end due to the declared bankruptcy of the Hessian metal manufacturer Imfeld & Co.
The foundry with an approximately 14-meter high forge, three furnaces, the gatehouse, and remise can still be visited. The former fortepiano was demolished in 1965 because the roof truss burned out.
In the 1980’s the Messinghof was home for an alternative housing- and cultural project. Furthermore, the punk label Iron Curtain Records settled down in the former manufactory of which many members are still active in the music and media industry.
Impressions from history
Thank you, Kassel!
The family Glinicke is tightly connected to the city of Kassel. It all started with Hans Glinicke quitting his position as director of the Lanz tractor factory to become self-employed. He started selling and repairing cars and motorcycles with his wife Dolores and five employees.
More than 90 years have passed since Hans Glinicke started the small business. Managed by Peter and his son Frank Florian Glinicke the company has been able to expand to 26 car dealerships in Germany and more than 1500 employees (as of July 2018) caring for the customer needs and their vehicles stemming from a rich variety of brands.
Driven by the dynamic entrepreneurial spirit of Peter Glinicke the Leipziger Straße developed – among many other locations in Northern Hesse – to an important home address for the company. The Messinghof, located in immediate proximity, plays a special role for Peter Glinicke ever since it came into the possession of the family. The objective was to preserve a unique industrial monument of great historical importance, make the Messinghof come alive again, and to bring a contemporary use to the impressive facilities around the gigantic forge. The production of the Hercules monumental figure in 1717 might have been hardly more ambitious than the current project. However, the bureaucratic hurdles have been overcome by the spirit and perseverance of Peter Glinicke who brought the old industrial monument back to life. The Messinghof now offers room for weddings, all kinds of events, and business conferences in a unique atmosphere. Peter Glinicke says: “The restoration of the Messinghof is my gift to the people of this city“ and this gift comes from the heart.
„Our commitment is kind of an appreciation from Glinicke for the citizens of the city of Kassel for the years of trust as customers in our car dealerships.“
– Peter Glinicke